Institutional context of Belgium

Belgium is a Federal State, composed of Communities and Regions.

3 Communities: the Flemish-, French- and German-speaking Communities..

 

The Communities were created in response to the cultural differences in Belgium between the Dutch-speaking, French-speaking and German-speaking populations. Initially, their competences were limited to cultural affairs, before being extended to personal matters, education and the use of languages (in administrations, education and labour relations between employers and employees).

3 Regions: the Flemish, Walloon and Brussels-Capital Regions..

 

The Regions were created in response to Belgium's economic diversity. Their competences relate therefore to economic matters (economic policy, employment policy), supplemented by territorial aspects (environment, spatial planning, housing, energy, public works and transport, etc.).

The Federal authorities have competences which are not explicitly devolved to the Communities and Regions (known as residual powers) and a certain number of specially designated powers (among others monetary policy, justice, social security, domestic policy, etc.).

 

 

print
Home  
News archive  
Who are we?  
Brussels Context  
Mapping Brussels  
Distribution of political authority in health and social matters  
Health  
Poverty  
Indicators  
Publications  
Newsletter  
Projects

Contexte institutionnel de la Belgique

La Belgique est un Etat fédéral, composé de Communautés et de Régions.

3 Communautés : les communautés flamande, française et germanophone.

 

La création des Communautés devait répondre aux différences culturelles en Belgique entre la population néerlandophone, francophone et germanophone. Initialement, les compétences étaient limitées aux affaires culturelles, elles ont ensuite été étendues aux matières personnalisables, à l'enseignement et à l'usage des langues (dans les administrations, l'enseignement et les relations sociales entre employeurs et travailleurs). 

3 Régions : les Régions flamande, wallonne et bruxelloise.

 

Les Régions ont été créées pour répondre à la diversité économique de la Belgique. Les compétences sont donc en rapport avec l'économie (politique économique, politique de l'emploi), complétées par les aspects liés au territoire (environnement, aménagement du territoire, logement, énergie, travaux publics et transport, ...).

Le pouvoir fédéral dispose des compétences qui ne relèvent pas explicitement des communautés et des régions (ce qu'on appelle les pouvoirs résiduaires) et un certain nombre de matières attribuées (entre autres la politique monétaire, la justice, la sécurité sociale, la politique intérieure, ...).

 

 

imprimer
Home  
News  
Qui sommes-nous?  
Contexte bruxellois  
Bruxelles en cartes  
Répartition des compétences politiques en santé et social  
Santé  
Pauvreté  
Indicateurs  
Publications  
Newsletter & rss  
Projets