Exercising of powers in the area of personal matters in Brussels

Personal matters, in the same way as culture and education, come under the authority of the Communities. The division of these competences in Brussels is particularly complex.

The criterion of competence of the Communities in Brussels is:

neither territorial (the two Communities are not competent for part of the Brussels territory; a territorial division between the two Communities would be pointless because French-speaking citizens and Dutch-speaking citizens live together on the whole of the territory);

nor individual (nor are the Communities competent for French-speaking and Dutch-speaking citizens respectively in Brussels; such a form of “sub-nationality” does not exist);

but is linked to activities or organisational matters.


This institutional criterion of competence implies that the French and Flemish Communities in Brussels have competence only for what are known as “the uni-community institutions” and have no powers to take direct measures concerning people (this competence is exercised by the Joint Community Commission, see below). These “uni-community institutions” are the bodies which, “because of their activities” or “based on their organisation”, have to be considered as belonging exclusively to one or the other Community.

The “because of their activities” criterion refers to the fact that the activities of uni-community institutions are intended for either French-speaking citizens or Dutch-speaking citizens in Brussels. This criterion is valid for cultural and education matters.
Examples of institutions which are considered as uni-community “because of their activities” are, on the on hand, TV Brussel, Koninklijke Vlaamse Schouwburg (KVS) and Flemish schools and, on the other hand, Télé-Bruxelles, the National Theatre and French language schools, which come under the authority of the Flemish and French Communities respectively.

The “based on their organisation” criterion refers to the language according to which the uni-community institution is organised. This criterion is valid for personal matters.
Examples of institutions which have to be considered as uni-community “based on their organisation” are unilingual French-language or Dutch-language hospitals (i.e. at the current time in particular university hospitals) and unilingual services, such as the ONE and Kind and Gezin. These uni-community institutions must be open to all and cannot focus their activities exclusively on one Community, even if a practical result of their uni-community nature is that they will be used primarily by those who speak the institution's language.

For the purpose of exercising Community competences in Brussels and in order to meet the specific needs of Brussels, three new institutions were created in 1989: the Joint Community Commission (GGC/CCC), the French Community Commission (COCOF) and the Flemish Community Commission (VGC).

The COCOF and the VGC were initially devolved structures of the French and Flemish Communities, that is to say under their supervision and acting in an auxiliary role.

In 1994, the competences of the COCOF were extended: the French Community has transferred in full a set of competences to the COCOF, which can consequently act autonomously, chiefly in the area of curative healthcare and personal welfare matters, without prejudice to its legislative power. A certain number of individual matters remain the strict responsibility of the French Community: among others, health prevention and education, the Office de Naissance et de l'Enfance (ONE) and the protection of young persons.

The Flemish Community has not transferred competences to the VGC, which means that it does not have any legislative power.

The GGC/CCC has responsibility for matters considered as “bi-personal”, the personal matters for which the Communities do not have competence on the bilingual territory of the Brussels-Capital Region. These matters concern, on the one hand, measures applying directly to individuals and, on the other hand, institutions which, because of their organisation, are not attached exclusively to one of the Communities. These bilingual institutions are either public institutions which are bilingual by definition, such as the CPAS welfare centres and public hospitals, or private institutions which have not opted for either Community.

Finally, the GGC/CCC is competent as a consultation and coordination body between the French Community and Flemish Community (with a view to achieving the greatest possible consistency as regards policy for individual matters).

 

 

print
Home  
News archive  
Who are we?  
Brussels Context  
Mapping Brussels  
Distribution of political authority in health and social matters  
Health  
Poverty  
Indicators  
Publications  
Newsletter  
Projects

Exercice des matières personnalisables à Bruxelles

Les matières personnalisables, tout comme la culture et l'enseignement, relèvent des compétences communautaires. On a prévu une répartition particulièrement complexe pour ces compétences.

Le critère de compétence des communautés à Bruxelles n'est :

Ni territorial (les deux Communautés ne sont pas compétentes pour une part du territoire bruxellois ; une division territoriale entre les deux communautés n'a pas de sens étant donné que les francophones et les néerlandophones vivent ensemble sur l'ensemble du territoire);

Ni personnel (les Communautés ne sont pas non plus compétentes pour respectivement les Bruxellois francophones et néerlandophones; une telle forme de " sous-nationalité " n'existe pas);

Mais est lié aux activités ou à l'organisation.


Ce critère de compétence institutionnelle sous-entend que les Communautés française et flamande à Bruxelles ne sont compétentes que pour ce qu'on appelle " les institutions unicommunautaires " et n'ont aucune compétence pour prendre des mesures directe sur les personnes (cette compétence relève de la Commission Communautaire Commune, voir ci-dessous). Ces " institutions unicommunautaires " sont les organismes qui, " en raison de leur activités " ou " en fonction de leur organisation ", doivent être considérées comme appartenant exclusivement à l'une ou l'autre communauté.

Le  critère " en raison de leurs activités " se réfère au fait que les institutions unicommunautaires orientent leurs activités soit vers les Francophones, soit vers les Néerlandophones de Bruxelles. Ce critère est valable pour les matières culturelles et pour l'enseignement.
Des exemples d'institutions qui sont considérées comme unicommunautaires “selon leurs activités” sont TV Brussel, de Koninklijke Vlaamse Schouwburg (KVS) et les écoles flamandes d'une part, Télé-Bruxelles, Le Théâtre national et les écoles de langue française d'autre part, qui dépendent respectivement de la Communauté flamande ou française.

Le critère " en fonction de leur organisation " se réfère à l'utilisation de la langue d'organisation de l'institution unicommunautaire. Ce critère est valable pour les matières personnalisables.
Des exemples d'institutions qui doivent être considérées comme unicommunautaires “selon leur organisation” sont les hôpitaux unilingues francophones ou néerlandophones (c'est-à-dire actuellement notamment les hôpitaux universitaires) et les services unilingues, telles que l'ONE ou Kind et Gezin. Ces institutions unicommunautaires doivent être ouvertes à tous et ne peuvent orienter leurs activités exclusivement vers une communauté, même si le caractère  unicommunautaire aura comme conséquence pratique que ce sont surtout des personnes de la langue de l'institution qui s'y adressent.

En vue d'exercice les compétences communautaires à Bruxelles et pour rencontrer la spécificité bruxelloise, trois nouvelles institutions ont été créées en 1989 : la Commission communautaire commune (COCOM), la Commission communautaire française (COCOF) et la " Vlaamse Gemeenschapscommissie " (VGC).

La COCOF et la VGC sont des structures déconcentrées des Communautés française et flamande c'est-à-dire sous leur tutelle et dans un rôle supplétif.

En 1994, les compétences de la COCOF ont été étendues: la Communauté française a transféré intégralement un ensemble de compétences vers la COCOF, qui peut dès lors agir de manière autonome, essentiellement dans le domaine des soins de santé curatifs et dans l'aide aux personnes, sans préjudice de son pouvoir normatif. Un certain nombre de matières personnalisables restent de la stricte compétence de la Communauté française: entre autres la prévention, l'éducation à la santé, l'Office de naissance et de l'Enfance (ONE) et la protection de la jeunesse.

La Communauté flamande n'a pas transféré de compétences à la VGC, ce qui l'empêche de disposer d'un pouvoir normatif.

La COCOM est responsable pour les matières qualifiées de " bipersonnalisables ", les matières personnalisables pour lesquelles les Communautés ne sont pas compétentes sur le territoire bilingue de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale. Ces matières concernent, d'une part, les mesures qui s'appliquent directement aux personnes, et d'autre part, aux institutions qui, en raison de leur organisation, ne se rattachent pas exclusivement à l'une des Communautés. Ces institutions bilingues sont soit les institutions publiques qui sont bilingues par définition, comme les CPAS et les hôpitaux publics, soit les institutions privées qui n'ont pas fait de choix en faveur de l'une ou de l'autre communauté.

Enfin, la CCC est compétente en tant qu'organe de concertation et de coordination entre la Communauté française et la Communauté flamande (en vue de la plus grande cohérence possible dans la politique des matières personnalisables).

 

 

imprimer
Home  
News  
Qui sommes-nous?  
Contexte bruxellois  
Bruxelles en cartes  
Répartition des compétences politiques en santé et social  
Santé  
Pauvreté  
Indicateurs  
Publications  
Newsletter & rss  
Projets