Personal matters

The special law of 8 August 1980 on institutional reforms lists the personal matters and distinguishes between two areas: health and personal welfare. In these areas, general competences are devolved to the Communities, while the Federal authorities remain competent for a number of matters.

Health policy consists, on the one hand, of the policy for the provision of healthcare in and out of healthcare institutions and, on the other hand, of health education and preventive medicine. As regards the provision of healthcare, the Federal authorities have competence in particular for organic legislation and the basic rules relating to programming and funding infrastructures. As regards prevention, the Federal authorities remain competent for national disease prevention rules.

Personal welfare is divided into different areas: family policy, social welfare care, the reception and integration of immigrants, policy for disabled people, policy for the elderly and the protection of young people and welfare assistance for prisoners with a view to their social reintegration. Responsibility for a certain number of areas is explicitly attributed to the Federal authorities, among others: legislation regarding the Welfare aid (leefloon/revenue d'intégration sociale), the rules and financing of disability benefits, fixing the minimum amount, conditions for granting and financing the guaranteed income for elderly people (IGO/GRAPA) and areas concerning the protection of young people coming within the framework of the Civil, Penal or Judicial Codes.

print
Home  
News archive  
Who are we?  
Brussels Context  
Mapping Brussels  
Distribution of political authority in health and social matters  
Health  
Poverty  
Indicators  
Publications  
Newsletter  
Projects

Les matières personnalisables

La loi spéciale du 8 août 1980 de réformes institutionnelles donne la liste les matières personnalisables et différencie deux domaines: la santé et l'aide aux personnes. Dans ces domaines, les compétences générales relèvent des Communautés mais un certain nombre de matières restent de la compétence des autorités fédérales.

La politique de santé comporte d'une part la politique de dispensation des soins de santé dans et hors des institutions de soins et d'autre part l'éducation à la santé et la médecine préventive. En ce qui concerne la dispensation des soins de santé,  les autorités fédérales restent compétentes notamment pour la législation organique et les règles de base relatives à la programmation et au financement des infrastructures. Sur le plan de la prévention, les autorités fédérales restent compétentes pour les règles nationales de prophylaxie.

L'aide aux personnes est scindée en différentes matières: la politique familiale, l'aide sociale, l'accueil et l'intégration des immigrés, la politique des handicapés, la politique du troisième âge et la protection de la jeunesse, l'aide sociale aux détenus en vue de leur réinsertion sociale. Un certain nombre de matières sont explicitement attribuées aux autorités fédérales, entre autres : la législation en matière de minimum de moyens d'existence, les règles et le financement des allocations aux handicapés, la fixation du montant minimum, des conditions d'octroi et du financement du revenu légalement garanti aux personnes âgées (GRAPA) et les matières concernant la protection de la jeunesse relevant du code civil, pénal ou judiciaire.

imprimer
Home  
News  
Qui sommes-nous?  
Contexte bruxellois  
Bruxelles en cartes  
Répartition des compétences politiques en santé et social  
Santé  
Pauvreté  
Indicateurs  
Publications  
Newsletter & rss  
Projets