An overview of Brussels institutions

The Brussels Region has had its own specific existence and institutions since 1989. Following the State reform of 1980-1989, Brussels institutions have their own legal personality and competences:

Regional competences are exercised by the institutions of the Brussels-Capital Region

Community competences are exercised in Brussels by, on the one hand, the French and Flemish Communities and, on the other hand, by the three Community Commissions (GGC/CCC, COCOF and VGC).


Each Brussels institution has a legislative and executive body and an administration:

 


These four institutions are interlinked at political level, in that the same members of parliament and ministers are found in the different institutions. This interlinking is clearly illustrated in this diagram.

- The parliaments are composed of the members of parliament forming the two linguistic groups. The parliaments of the COCOF and the VGC are composed respectively of the French-language and Dutch-language groups of the Brussels parliament. The Joint Assembly of the GGC/CCC is composed of the 89 members of the Brussels parliament belonging to the two linguistic groups.

- The government of the Brussels-Capital Region is composed of minsters and secretaries of state. The colleges of the COCOF and the VGC are composed respectively of the members of the government of the Brussels-Capital Region (ministers) and regional secretaries of state belonging respectively to the French-speaking and Dutch-speaking linguistic groups. The Joint college of the COCOM is composed of the members of the Region's government (ministers) and is chaired by the Minister-President of the government, who has only an advisory role.

The institutions operate separately, however, as regards their administration.
- Each institution has its own budget and its own administration.
.

The normative instruments of the Brussels institutions are as follows:

The Brussels parliament enacts its own legislation by way of orders

The COCOM also has legislative competence and enacts its own orders

The COCOF can, since 1st January 1994, act autonomously in a certain number of areas (that is to say the matters which were transferred to it by the French Community, among others a large part of health policy and personal welfare services) and can enact legislation in the form of decrees

Each of the three Community Commissions has organisational powers (setting up institutions and taking initiatives or financing them). Each parliament can adopt regulations to implement these competences, with the colleges implementing the said regulations by way of decrees.

 

 

print
Home  
News archive  
Who are we?  
Brussels Context  
Mapping Brussels  
Distribution of political authority in health and social matters  
Health  
Poverty  
Indicators  
Publications  
Newsletter  
Projects

Un aperçu des institutions bruxelloises

La Région bruxelloise a une existence et des institutions propres depuis 1989. Suite à la réforme de l'Etat de 1980-1989, les institutions bruxelloises ont une personnalité juridique et des compétences propres:

Les compétences régionales sont exercées par les institutions de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale.

Les compétences communautaires sont exercées à Bruxelles par les Communautés française et flamande d'une part, et par les 3 Commissions communautaires commune, française et flamande d'autre part.


Chaque institution bruxelloise dispose d'un organe législatif et exécutif et d'une administration:


Ces 4 institutions sont imbriquées au niveau politique, dans le sens où ce sont les mêmes parlementaires et les mêmes ministres qui se retrouvent dans les différentes institutions. Cette imbrication est clairement iillustrée dans ce schéma.

- Ce sont les parlementaires formant les deux groupes linguistiques qui sont membres des parlements. Les Assemblées de la COCOF et de la VGC sont respectivement composées du groupe linguistique francophone et néerlandophone du Parlement de la Région de Bruxelles-capitale. L'Assemblée réunie de la COCOM est composée des 89 membres du Parlement de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale appartenant aux deux groupes linguistiques.

- Le gouvernement de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale est composé de ministres et de secrétaires d'Etat. Les Collèges de la COCOF et de la VGC sont composés respectivement des membres du gouvernement de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale (ministres) et des secrétaires d'Etat régionaux appartenant respectivement au groupe linguistique francophone et néerlandophone. Le Collège réuni de la COCOM rassemble les membres (ministres) du Gouvernement de la Région et est présidé par le Ministre-Président du Gouvernement qui n'y a qu'une voix consultative.

Au niveau de l'administration, ces institutions sont toutefois scindées.
- Chaque institution dispose de son propre budget et de sa propre administration.

Les outils normatifs des institutions bruxellois sont les suivants:

Le parlement bruxellois adopte ses propres normes législatives par voie d'ordonnances

La COCOM possède également une compétence législative et adopte ses propres ordonnances.

La COCOF peut, depuis le 1er janvier 1994, agir de manière autonome dans un certain nombre de domaines (c'est-à-dire les matières qui lui ont été transférées par la Communauté française, entre autres une grande partie de la politique de santé et de l'aide aux personnes) et peut adopter des normes légales sous forme de décrets.

Chacune des trois commissions communautaires possède des compétences de pouvoir organisateur (mettre en place des institutions et prendre des initiatives ou les financer). Chaque Assemblée peut adopter des règlements pour mettre ces compétences en oeuvre, les collèges appliquent ces règlements par voie d'arrêtés.

 

 

imprimer
Home  
News  
Qui sommes-nous?  
Contexte bruxellois  
Bruxelles en cartes  
Répartition des compétences politiques en santé et social  
Santé  
Pauvreté  
Indicateurs  
Publications  
Newsletter & rss  
Projets