Completed Projects Poverty

(1) Local diagnosis of the problems and needs of the Brussels municipalities

(2) Renforcer la lutte contre le sans-abrisme en Région bruxelloise sous l'angle juridique

(3) Living at home after the age of 65. Atlas of the needs and stakeholders in Brussels (2004-2007)

(4) Brussels-Capital Health and Social Atlas (2005-2006)

(5) Assessment of the contribution of those living in poverty to the Brussels report on the state of poverty (2004-2005)

(6) Another approach for poverty indicators: research - action - training (2002-2004)

(7) Improving poverty indicators for the Brussels state of poverty report (2002-2003)

(1) Local diagnosis of the problems and needs of the Brussels municipalities

As part of its “Social Cohesion” Decree, the French Community commissioned an analysis of the problems and needs of the Brussels municipalities with regard to social cohesion. This analysis was intended to help the local municipal coordination centres draw up their state of play report with a view to preparing their new five-year plan for the period 2011-2015.

This analysis was being carried out by IGEAT-ULB in collaboration with the Health and Social Observatory. In concrete terms, it involves updating and developing the Observatory's municipality files: health and social statistics per municipality for 2006 (French - Dutch). Indicators linked to housing and education (with figures from both the French and Flemish Communities) were also introduced.

Alongside the 19 municipality files and an information sheet for the Region, an instruction manual will also be drafted to help local stakeholders interpret the data for their municipality. A third and final document entitled "sources and references" is intended to provide guidance for local stakeholders when they want to search the databases themselves.

The 19 municipality files are available in French and Dutch

The information sheet for the Region, the instruction manuel and the document “Sources and references” are available in French (website COCOF)

(2) Renforcer la lutte contre le sans-abrisme en Région bruxelloise sous l'angle juridique

Research carried out by Nicolas BERNARD and Laurent LEMAIRE (Facultés universitaires Saint-Louis) on behalf of the Health and Social Observatory.

The prevention of evictions and support for the (re)housing of homeless people are an important component of the strategy to combat poverty. This complex subject comprises important legal aspects. Alongside the thematic overview section of the 2010 Brussels report on the state of poverty on “Homelessness”, the Observatory asked Nicolas BERNARD’s research team to develop clearly the legal aspects of the problem and generate ideas to tackle homelessness.

This work exists in the form of the research report entitled “Expulsions de logement et sans-abrisme en Région de Bruxelles-Capitale. Une approche juridique transversale“ (Evictions and homelessness in the Brussels-Capital Region. A cross-cutting legal approach).

(3) Living at home after the age of 65. Atlas of the needs and stakeholders in Brussels (2004-2007)

The objective of the “Brussels-Capital Health and Social Atlas” project was to compare data pertaining to the health and welfare situation of inhabitants of Brussels with data on the existing health and welfare services.

The aim was to approach this ambitious task in various stages. Although inventories of certain services offered by various institutional authorities (for example by the French Community Commission COCOF and the Flemish Community Commission VGC) existed, there had never been an attempt to produce a combined inventory covering all services. As this type of work was not part of the Observatory's core activities, various partners were approached.

The Observatory first contacted the Social Documentation and Coordination Centre (CDCS-CMDC) to collaborate on the project. This not-for-profit association has considerable experience in gathering data on health and welfare services operating in the Brussels-Capital Region. As the collaboration of the various Brussels authorities (Joint Community Commission GGC/CCC, COCOF and VGC) was indispensable, they were also invited to participate in this project

The Observatory organised meetings with the various partners in order to discuss the actual content of the project. We were able to launch the content work once each of the parties involved had been convinced of the usefulness of the project and all the steps necessary for formalising the collaboration project had been completed.

A first major obstacle to be overcome was the need to identify the best approach to listing the services offered. As each authority has its own approach to the deployment of the services it offers, it was not possible simply to add up the services subsidised by the various authorities. Accordingly, we chose to take as our starting point the needs of citizens in Brussels rather than the subsidisation logic adopted by the various authorities.

A second difficulty was determining the theme. The range of health and welfare services offered is very broad. The budget available and the desire to obtain results in the short term forced us to limit the scope covered considerably. Identifying a centre of interest common to all the authorities concerned led us to select the theme “maintaining elderly people in their own home”.

The CDCS-CMDC prepared and conducted a survey among all the services which meet, in one way or another, the needs of elderly people living in their own home. The university teams which had collaborated on the “Health and Social Atlas” were requested to analyse and map the problem of elderly people living at home on the basis of the socio-economic survey data and the IGEAT team collaborated in mapping the results of the survey carried out by the CDCS-CMDC. The Observatory was responsible for overall project co-ordination and comparing the information concerning supply and demand and seeking additional data to answer this question, so as to be able to publish the information as a whole in “Living at home after the age of 65. Atlas of the needs and stakeholders in Brussels”.

Full text available in French and Dutch.

Conclusions and summary available in English

Take a look at the different chapters here: in French or Dutch

(4) Brussels-Capital Health and Social Atlas (2005-2006)

The general socio-economic survey (before the census) is a very important source of data for poverty indicators and health determinants. This survey offers numerous possibilities because the whole of the population on the national register was interviewed on many aspects of life (housing, work, level of education, health, etc.). Such data are only available every 10 years and there is no guarantee that such a collection of detailed data will be produced in the future.

That is why the Health and Social Observatory decided to launch a project to analyse the 2001 survey data as soon as they became available. The objective was to make the greatest possible use of the pertinent data contained in the survey in combination with health- and welfare-related data to make available to a wider audience information up to the level of statistical areas, in collaboration with university teams experienced in processing such data. Three teams of researchers - Interface Demography VUB, Institut de Gestion de l'Environnement et d'Aménagement du Territoire of ULB and Instituut voor Sociale en Economische Geografie KULeuven - worked together to analyse, map and interpret this mine of information. The Observatory co-ordinated the work of the teams of researchers and aspects such as the translation of the various contributions, the harmonisation of the overall project and ensuring the publication of a document as widely accessible as possible.

Full text available in French and Dutch

Introduction available in English

Take a look at the different chapters here: in French or Dutch

(5) Assessment of the contribution of those living in poverty to the Brussels report on the state of poverty (2004-2005)

The participation of poor people has been deemed crucial since the General Poverty Report of 1994. However, few plans featuring this participation have been acceptable in the eyes of all the partners. The Observatory is also in constant debate over the question of knowing how people who live in poverty can be best involved in the drafting of the Brussels poverty report. Thanks to a research project, in collaboration with the Instituut voor Sociale en Economische Geografie (Institute for Social and Economic Geography) of KULeuven (Catholic University of Leuven) , we have researched a clear methodology and theoretical base.

This project led to the publication of a report (French - Dutch - summary in English) which, among other things, clearly defined the conditions for participatory consultation, and for an assessment of the contribution to the 2000-2004 state of poverty reports. It also contains a number of future scenarios, which may influence discussions on amending the order on drafting the state of poverty report.

The most important result of this project is the reinforcement of the collaboration between the Observatory and the Service for Combating Poverty, Marginalisation and Social Exclusion, for example, as part of the 2008 state of poverty report on the issue of the premature ageing of poor people.

(6) Another approach for poverty indicators: research - action - training (2002-2004)

Scientists, officials and people living in poverty were all involved in this project. The goal was to work out together the various existing possibilities for determining poverty indicators, to shed light on the life experiences of people and families living in poverty. Some 23 persons took part in the project, including a member of the Observatory team.

The project led in 2004 to the publication of “Une autre approche des indicateurs de pauvreté” (Another approach for poverty indicators). This is available on the website of the Service for Combating Poverty, Marginalisation and Social Exclusion. (http://www.luttepauvrete.be/publicationsserviceindicateurs.htm).


(7) Improving poverty indicators for the Brussels state of poverty report (2002-2003)

Until 2006, data from the 19 Brussels Public Social Welfare Centres (CPAS) constituted an obligatory part of the Brussels state of poverty report. However, the quality of the data could not be guaranteed for a number of reasons, so the Health and Social Observatory launched a research project to optimise the quality of data collected.

To this end, various partners have worked with the Observatory: a working group from the CPAS Conference of Presidents and Secretaries in the Brussels region, two researchers from KULeuven and the Université libre de Bruxelles (ULB).

The joint project came to completion in 2003 with an internal document produced by the partners and distributed to the 19 CPAS, the Conference and the relevant ministers for social welfare from the Joint Community Commission.
This document served as the touchstone for a working group from the CPAS Conference of Presidents and Secretaries in the Brussels region.



print
Home  
News archive  
Who are we?  
Brussels Context  
Health  
Poverty  
Indicators  
Publications  
Newsletter  
Projects  
Ongoing projects health  
Ongoing projects poverty  
Completed projects health  
Completed projects poverty

Projets réalisés pauvreté

(1) Diagnostic local des problèmes et des besoins des communes bruxelloises

(2) Renforcer la lutte contre le sans-abrisme en Région bruxelloise sous l'angle juridique 

(3) Vivre chez soi après 65 ans. Atlas des besoins et des acteurs à Bruxelles (2004-2007) 

(4) Atlas de la santé et du social de Bruxelles-Capitale (2005-2006) 

(5) Evaluation de la participation des personnes vivant dans la pauvreté au rapport bruxellois sur l'état de la pauvreté (2004-2005) 

(6) Une autre approche des indicateurs de pauvreté: recherche - action - formation (2002-2004) 

(7) Amélioration des indicateurs de pauvreté pour le rapport bruxellois sur l'état de la pauvreté (2002-2003)

(1) Diagnostic local des problèmes et des besoins des communes bruxelloises

Dans le cadre de son décret “Cohésion sociale”, la Commission communautaire française a commandé une analyse des problèmes et besoins des communes bruxelloises en matière de cohésion sociale. Cette analyse doit soutenir les coordinations locales communales pour la cohésion sociale dans l'élaboration de leur état des lieux en vue de la préparation de leur nouveau quinquennat 2011-2015.

Cette analyse a été effectuée par l'IGEAT-ULB en collaboration avec l'Observatoire de la Santé et du Social. Il s'agit concrètement d'une actualisation et d'un développement des fiches communales de l'Observatoire: statistiques sanitaires et sociales par commune de 2006. Des indicateurs liés au logement et à l'enseignement (avec des chiffres provenant aussi bien de la communauté française que de la communauté flamande) sont également repris.

A côté des 19 fiches communales et d'une fiche régionale, un mode d'emploi a été rédigé dans le but de soutenir les acteurs locaux dans l'interprétation des données de leur commune. Un troisième et dernier document "sources et références" doit soutenir les acteurs locaux lorsqu'ils chercheront eux-mêmes les données de base

Les 19 fiches communales sont disponibles en français et en néerlandais et peuvent être téléchargées ici

La fiche régionale, le mode d’emploi et le document ‘Sources et références’ sont disponibles uniquement en français et peuvent être téléchargés sur le site de la COCOF

(2) Renforcer la lutte contre le sans-abrisme en Région bruxelloise sous l'angle juridique

Recherche menée par Nicolas BERNARD et Laurent LEMAIRE (Facultés universitaires Saint-Louis) pour le compte de l’Observatoire de la Santé et du Social.

La prévention des expulsions et le soutien au (re)logement des personnes sans-abri forment une stratégie importante dans la lutte contre la pauvreté. Cette matière complexe comporte des aspects juridiques importants. En complément au cahier thématique du rapport bruxellois sur l’état de la pauvreté 2010 relatif au “Vivre sans chez soi”, l’Observatoire a demandé à l’équipe de recherche de Nicolas BERNARD de développer clairement les aspects juridiques de la problématique et de formuler des pistes dans la lutte contre le sans-abrisme. Ce travail existe sous forme de rapport de recherche « Expulsions de logement et sans-abrisme en Région de Bruxelles-Capitale. Une approche juridique transversale. »

(3) Vivre chez soi après 65 ans. Atlas des besoins et des acteurs à Bruxelles (2004-2007)

A l'occasion du projet “Atlas de la santé et du social de Bruxelles-Capitale”, il était prévu de confronter l'information concernant la situation sociale et de santé de la population bruxelloise à l'offre de services sociaux et de santé.

Cette mission ambitieuse devait être abordée en différentes étapes. Jusqu'alors, il existait bien des inventaires de l'offre de certains services des différents pouvoirs institutionnels (par exemple de la COCOF ou de la VGC), mais jamais encore l'exercice de les rassembler n'avait été réalisé. Ce type de travail n'étant pas le “core business” de l'Observatoire, différents partenaires ont été recherchés.

L'Observatoire a d'abord proposé au Centre de Documentation et de Coordination sociales (CDCS-CMDC) de collaborer. Cette ASBL travaille depuis longtemps au recueil d'informations sur l'offre de services sociaux et de santé en Région de Bruxelles-Capitale.
La collaboration des différentes autorités bruxelloises (CCC, COCOF et VGC) étant indispensable, celles-ci ont également été invitées à participer à ce projet.

L'Observatoire a rassemblé les différents partenaires afin de discuter du contenu effectif du projet. Le travail de contenu a pu démarrer une fois que chacun des partenaires ait été convaincu du sens de ce projet et que les étapes nécessaires à la formalisation de la collaboration aient été franchies.
Un premier obstacle important à franchir était de trouver le bon angle d'approche pour inventorier l'offre. Chaque autorité suit une logique qui lui est propre dans le déploiement de son offre de service, il n'est donc pas possible de simplement additionner les services subventionnés par les différentes autorités.  Le choix a donc été fait de partir des besoins des Bruxellois et pas de la logique de subventionnement des différentes autorités.

Une  seconde difficulté a consisté à délimiter le thème. L'offre de services sociaux et de santé est en effet très importante. Le budget disponible et le souhait d'obtenir des résultats à court terme nous ont contraints à limiter fortement le champ couvert. La recherche d'un centre d'intérêt commun à toutes les autorités concernées a abouti au choix du thème “le maintien à domicile des personnes âgées”.

Le CDCS-CMDC s'est chargé de l'élaboration et de la réalisation d'une enquête auprès de tous les services qui répondent de l'une ou de l'autre manière aux besoins des personnes âgées vivant à domicile. Les équipes universitaires qui avaient collaboré à “l'Atlas de la santé et du social” ont été sollicitées pour analyser et cartographier la problématique des personnes âgées vivant à domicile sur base des données de l'enquête socio-économique et l'équipe de l'IGEAT a collaboré à la cartographie des résultats de l'enquête menée par le CDCS-CMDC.
L'Observatoire s'est chargé  de la coordination de l'ensemble, de la confrontation des  informations concernant “les besoins” et “l'offre” et de la recherche d'informations complémentaires pour répondre à cette question, pour enfin regrouper le tout dans la publication “Vivre chez soi après 65 ans. Atlas des besoins et des acteurs à Bruxelles”.

 Téléchargez la publication ici

(4) Atlas de la santé et du social de Bruxelles-Capitale (2005-2006)

L'enquête socio-économique générale (auparavant le recensement) est une source de données très importante pour les indicateurs de pauvreté et les déterminants de la santé. Cette enquête offre beaucoup de possibilités parce que l'ensemble de la population inscrite au registre national a été interrogée sur de multiples domaines de la vie (logement, travail, niveau d'instruction, santé, etc.). De telles données ne sont disponibles que tous les 10 ans et il n'est pas certain qu'un tel recueil de données détaillées sera encore réalisé à l'avenir.

C'est la raison pour laquelle l'Observatoire de la santé et du Social a décidé de démarrer un projet d'analyse des données de l'enquête 2001 dès qu'elles ont été disponibles. L'objectif était d'exploiter au maximum les données intéressante en lien avec le social et la santé pour mettre à la disposition d'un large public des informations jusqu'au niveau des secteurs statistiques et ce, en collaboration avec des équipes universitaires ayant une expertise dans le traitement de telles données. Trois équipes de chercheurs - Interface Demography VUB, Institut de Gestion de l'Environnement et d'Aménagement du Territoire de l'ULB et Instituut voor Sociale en Economische Geografie KULeuven - ont collaboré à l'analyse, la cartographie et l'interprétation de cette mine d'informations. L'Observatoire s'est chargé de la coordination des équipes de chercheurs, de la traduction des différentes contributions et de l'harmonisation de l'ensemble et la publication d'un document  le plus accessible possible

 Téléchargez la publication ici

(5) Evaluation de la participation des personnes vivant dans la pauvreté au rapport bruxellois sur l'état de la pauvreté (2004-2005)

La participation des personnes pauvres semble incontournable depuis le Rapport Général sur la pauvreté de 1994. Pourtant peu d'initiatives réussissent à organiser cette participation de manière acceptable pour tous les partenaires. L'Observatoire aussi se débat constamment avec la question de savoir comment les personnes qui vivent dans la pauvreté peuvent être impliquées au mieux dans l'élaboration du rapport sur l'état de la pauvreté bruxellois. Grâce à un projet de recherche, en collaboration avec l'Instituut voor Sociale en Economische Geografie de la KULeuven, nous avons recherché une méthodologie explicite et une base théorique.

Ce projet a donné lieu à la publication d'un dossier dans lequel, entre autres, les conditions d'une concertation participative ont été clairement décrites, de même qu'une évaluation de la participation aux rapports sur l'état de la pauvreté 2000-2004. Il contient également un certain nombre de pistes d'avenir, qui peuvent influencer les discussions au sujet de la modification de l'ordonnance relative à l'élaboration du rapport sur l'état de la pauvreté.

La suite la plus importante de ce projet est le renforcement de la collaboration entre l'Observatoire et le Service de lutte contre la pauvreté, la précarité et l'exclusion sociale, par exemple dans le cadre du rapport sur l'état de la pauvreté 2008 au sujet du vieillissement précoce des personnes pauvres.


(6) Une autre approche des indicateurs de pauvreté: recherche - action - formation (2002-2004)

Tant des scientifiques que des administrations et des personnes vivant dans la pauvreté ont été impliquées dans ce projet. L'objectif était de travailler ensemble les différentes possibilités existantes pour déterminer des indicateurs de pauvreté qui rendent clairement compte du vécu  des personnes et des familles qui vivent dans la pauvreté. 23 personnes ont pris part au projet, parmi lesquelles un membre de l'équipe de l'Observatoire.

Le projet a donné lieu en 2004 à une publication “Une autre approche des indicateurs de pauvreté”. Cette publication est disponible sur le site du Service de lutte contre la pauvreté, la précarité et l'exclusion sociale. (http://www.luttepauvrete.be/publicationsserviceindicateurs.htm).


(7) Amélioration des indicateurs de pauvreté pour le rapport bruxellois sur l'état de la pauvreté (2002-2003)

Jusqu'en 2006, les données des 19 CPAS bruxellois constituaient une partie obligatoire du rapport sur l'état de la pauvreté bruxellois. La qualité des données n'était vraiment pas garantie pour de multiples raisons. C'est pourquoi l'Observatoire de la Santé et du Social a lancé un projet de recherche afin d'optimaliser la qualité de la récolte de données.

Dans cet objectif, différents partenaires ont collaboré avec l'Observatoire: un groupe de travail de la Conférence des présidents et secrétaires des CPAS de la Région bruxelloise, 2 chercheurs de la KULeuven et de l'ULB.

Le projet commun a été finalisé en 2003 avec un document interne réalisé par les partenaires et diffusé aux 19 CPAS, à la Conférence et aux ministres compétents pour l'Aide aux personnes de la Commission communautaire commune.
Ce document a servi de base à la poursuite des travaux par un groupe de travail de la Conférence des présidents et secrétaires des CPAS de la Région bruxelloise


imprimer
Home  
News  
Qui sommes-nous?  
Contexte bruxellois  
Santé  
Pauvreté  
Indicateurs  
Publications  
Projets  
Projets en cours santé  
Projets en cours pauvreté  
Projets réalisés santé  
Projets réalisés pauvreté  
Newsletter & rss