History and structure

History

The Health Observatory was co-founded in 1992 by the Joint College of the Brussels-Capital Joint Community Commission and the Permanent Delegation of the Province of Brabant. This bi-community Observatory is designed to assist in developing a coherent health policy in the bilingual Brussels-Capital Region.

On 1 January 1995, a split in the province of Brabant becomes definitive; the Observatory now relies solely on the Joint College of the Joint Community Commission, responsible for health policy.

To ensure both the proper running of the Observatory within the administration of the Joint Community Commission and the independence of its scientific work, the Health Observatory is made a separately managed service in line with the order of 27 April 1995.

A new team (the current management team) is formed in May 1999.
According to the order of 19 July 2001, the objectives of the Observatory are extended to the "social" realm, including among other things the drafting of annual reports on the state of poverty in the Brussels-Capital Region. It therefore changes its name to "The Health and Social Observatory ". With its new title, the authorities clearly recognise that socio-economic factors have a major influence on health and vice versa.

This order is repealed by article 98 of the order of 21 November 2006 (in force since 1 January 2007); the Observatory then becomes the Research Centre for the Joint Community Commission's Joint College Services.
Its goals as stated in the order of 19 July 2001 were repeated in 2008 in a Joint College Regulation on the status of Joint College Services staff members.

Structure

The Health and Social Observatory is currently known as the "Research Centre for the Joint College Services of the Joint Community Commission".
It comprises a multidisciplinary team of 12 individuals.

The administrative and financial supervision of the Observatory is carried out by an inter-cabinet working group (ex-managing committee of the separately managed service) comprising:

The executive official of the Joint Community Commission

A representative of the French-speaking Minister of the Joint College responsible for Health

A representative of the Dutch-speaking Minister of the Joint College responsible for Health

A representative of the French-speaking Minister of the Joint College responsible for Social Welfare

A representative of the Dutch-speaking Minister of the Joint College responsible for Social Welfare

The scientific and administrative director of the Observatory.


Budget

The Health and Social Observatory has an annual budget for its operating costs. This budget stands at € 311 000 for 2016. This basic allocation should cover all costs, including the management of the Statistical Bulletins of Births and Deaths, Brussels funding for the National Health Survey, research projects or specific studies on health and poverty issues, costs of publications and translations, documentation, website maintenance, etc.

print
Home  
News archive  
Who are we?  
Team  
Goals  
History and structure  
Brussels Context  
Health  
Poverty  
Indicators  
Publications  
Newsletter  
Projects

Historique et structure

Historique

L' Observatoire de la Santé a été créé en 1992 conjointement par le Collège réuni de la Commission communautaire commune de Bruxelles-Capitale et la Députation permanente de la Province de Brabant. Cet observatoire bicommunautaire a pour objectif d'être un outil d'aide à l'élaboration d'une politique cohérente de santé dans la Région bilingue de Bruxelles-Capitale.

Le 1er janvier 1995, la scission de la province de Brabant devient définitive ; l'Observatoire dépend alors uniquement du Collège réuni de la Commission communautaire commune, compétent pour la santé.

Pour garantir le bon fonctionnement de l'Observatoire dans le cadre de l'administration de la Commission communautaire commune et un travail scientifique indépendant, l'Observatoire de la santé est devenu un service à gestion séparée en vertu de l'ordonnance du 27 avril 1995.

Une nouvelle équipe (direction actuelle de l’Observatoire) est mise en place en mai 1999.
Par ordonnance du 19 juillet 2001 , les missions de l'Observatoire sont étendues au "social" et y incluent entre autres l'élaboration du rapport sur l'état de la pauvreté de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale. Il change de dénomination et devient ainsi "L'Observatoire de la Santé et du Social". Par ce changement de dénomination, les autorités reconnaissent clairement que les facteurs socio-économiques ont une grande influence sur la santé et inversement.

Cette ordonnance est abrogée par l'article 98 de l'ordonnance du 21 novembre 2006 (entrée en vigueur le 1er janvier 2007) et l’Observatoire devient alors le Service d’Etudes des services du Collège réuni de la Commission communautaire commune.
Ses missions, définies dans l’ordonnance du 19 juillet 2001, ont été reprises dans l'article 5 de l'Arrêté du Collège réuni portant sur le statut des membres du personnel des Services du Collège réuni.

Structure

L'Observatoire de la Santé et du Social est actuellement le ‘Service d’Etudes des services du Collège réuni de la Commission communautaire commune’.
lI est composé d'une équipe pluridisciplinaire de 12 personnes.

La supervision administrative et financière de l'Observatoire est assurée par un groupe de travail intercabinets (ex comité de gestion du service à gestion séparée) comprenant

Le fonctionnaire dirigeant de la Commission communautaire commune

Un représentant du Ministre francophone du Collège réuni chargé de la santé

Un représentant du Ministre néerlandophone du Collège réuni chargé de la santé

Un représentant du Ministre francophone du Collège réuni chargé de l'aide aux personnes

Un représentant du Ministre néerlandophone du Collège réuni chargé de l'aide aux personnes

La directrice scientifique et administrative de l'Observatoire.

Budget

L’Observatoire de la Santé et du Social dispose d’un article budgétaire annuel pour ses frais de fonctionnement. Ce budget s’élève à 311 000€ pour l’année 2016.
Cette allocation de base est destinée à couvrir tous les frais tels que la gestion des bulletins statistiques de naissances et décès, le financement bruxellois de l’Enquête nationale de santé, les projets de recherches ou études spécifiques sur les thèmes de la santé ou de la pauvreté, les frais de publications et traductions, la documentation, la maintenance du site internet, etc

imprimer
Home  
News  
Qui sommes-nous?  
Equipe  
Missions  
Historique et structure  
Contexte bruxellois  
Santé  
Pauvreté  
Indicateurs  
Publications  
Newsletter & rss  
Projets