Statistical Births and Deaths certificates

1.The legal context

Statistical Births and Deaths certificates are designed to allow the Directorate-General for Statistics and Economic Information to prepare key statistics on births and deaths. The Royal orders of 17 june 1999 (French or Dutch) and 14 june 1999 (French or Dutch) set out the methods for preparing these statistics on births and deaths. The Joint Community Commission is entitled to gather and treat the data on the Brussels population. The Health and Social Observatory is assigned to perform this task.

Regional Medical Officers and Municipal Officials who complete or hold the certificates are bound by statistical and professional confidentiality. This information cannot be divulged in legal proceedings.

2. The certificates

New forms are in use since 1998. There are 3 forms:

Form I (French or Dutch): certificate for the declaration of birth for a living child. This must be completed at the birth of any living child whatever the weight at birth or length of gestation.

Form III D (French or Dutch) : certificate for the declaration of the death of a child under one year or stillborn. This must be completed for any child that dies within its first year or for a stillbirth whose birth weight is at least 500g or whose gestational age is at least 22 weeks or whose length at birth from head to toe is at least 25 cm (WHO criteria)

Form III C (French or Dutch): certificate for the declaration of the death of a person aged one year or over

All three forms are divided into four sections. Section A, not anonymous, is to be completed by the doctor and retained by the Municipal administration. Section B is to be filled in by the doctor and will be checked by the Municipal administration before being sent off with the rest of the form to the Regional Medical Officer at the Joint Community Commission. Section C, which contains the medical information, is to be filled in and placed in a sealed envelope by the doctor (this information cannot be accessed by the Municipal administration). It will be opened for the Health and Social Observatory by the doctor in charge. Section D, which contains anonymous administrative and social information, is to be completed by the Municipal administration.

The forms are printed by the Directorate-General for Statistics and Economic Information, which is responsible for supplying them to Local Authorities and to maternity wards. Municipal administrations are in charge of distributing the forms to doctors and hospitals within their municipality.

3.The role of Municipal administrations

Registry offices in the 19 Brussels municipalities play a key role in gathering basic data for birth and death statistics.

Officials at registry offices are responsible for completing Section D, which covers socio-demographic data for deceased persons or for parents in the case of a birth or under one year death (level of education, socio-professional situation, nationality, civil status, etc.). Depending on the quality of this data, links may be analysed between the social status or other demographic variables, and health indicators measured.

4. Data processing

The forms (Sections A, B and C) are first completed by doctors or midwives. Section C is sealed in an envelope attached to the bulletin, and then the entire folder is sent to the registry office of the municipality in which the birth or death took place.

The registry office then completes Section D. Statistical certificates are sent to the Joint Community Commission. Throughout this process, Section C (which contains the medical information) remains sealed.

The Health and Social Observatory verifies the data and contacts the Municipal administration for any corrections to the administrative data. The medical sections are opened with the permission of the Regional Medical Officer.

The various sections of the certificates are then encoded and the causes of death are converted according to the WHO International Classification of Diseases ICD-10. Since 1998, these tasks have been sub-contracted to a team at the Administration of the Flemish Community (for all certificates from 1998 to 2007 and certificates of death only for 2008) and to the non-profit organisation CEpip (Centre for Perinatal Epidemiology) (for 2008 certificates of births). These sub-contracts are subject to annual agreements between the Joint Community Commission and the bodies concerned. In collaboration with the coding officer, the responsible doctor from the Observatory checks where possible the data from Section C with the certifying doctor; if further investigations were required when the doctor issued the death certificate, the responsible doctor may also carry out further research with the Public Prosecutor to better understand the exact cause of death.

This data feeds several databases.

1. Births and under one year deaths

The births and under one year deaths are combined to produce a file containing all information on the child's birth and death.

The database of births and under one year deaths occurring in the Brussels-Capital Region is passed to the DGSIE, which is responsible for preparing national statistics. This database is also analysed by the Observatory, enabling for example the tracking of births and deaths of non-residents of Brussels occurring in the region (flows into Brussels hospitals and maternity wards).

The database of births and under one year deaths whose mothers reside in the Brussels Region is analysed in-depth by the Health and Social Observatory.  The findings are mainly published in the Perinatal Health Indicators section of the website, in the Health profiles and in the report on Perinatal Health Indicators. Data on children from Brussels who are born or die in Vlaanderen have been included in the database since 1998; data on children from Brussels who are born or die in Wallonie are included since 2000.

2. Deaths of persons over one year

The database for deaths occurring in the Brussels-Capital Region is passed to the DGSIE, which is responsible for preparing national statistics. This database is also analysed by the Observatory, enabling for example the tracking of deaths of non-residents of Brussels occurring in the region (flows into Brussels hospitals and care wards).

The database for deaths of Brussels residents is analysed in-depth by the Observatory. The findings are published in the mortality indicators section of the website, in the Health profiles or in specific reports. Data on Brussels residents who die in Vlaanderen have been included in the database since 1998; data on Brussels residents who die in Wallonie are not yet included in our databases, but will be in the near future.

Go to "National health survey"

 

print
Home  
News archive  
Who are we?  
Brussels Context  
Health  
Monitoring the state of health  
Sources and flows of data  
Publications  
Projects  
Les maladies transmissibles  
Le dépistage du cancer colorectal en Région bruxelloise  
Poverty  
Indicators  
Publications  
Newsletter  
Projects

Bulletins statistiques de naissance et décès

1. Le contexte légal

Les bulletins statistiques de décès et de naissance ont pour objectif l'établissement des statistiques vitales par la Direction générale Statistique et Information économique. Les Arrêtés royaux du 17 juin 1999 et du 14 juin 1999 précisent les modalités d'établissement des statistiques de décès et de naissances. La Commission communautaire commune est compétente pour le traitement des données relatives à la population bruxelloise. C'est l'Observatoire de la Santé et du Social qui est chargé de ce traitement.
Les médecins fonctionnaires communautaires et les fonctionnaires communaux qui détiennent ou remplissent les bulletins sont tenus au secret statistique et au secret professionnel. Ces renseignements ne peuvent être révélés en justice.

2. Les formulaires papiers de 1998

De nouveaux modèles de formulaires sont utilisés depuis 1998.
Il existe 3 modèles de formulaires:

le modèle I: déclaration de naissance d'un enfant né vivant. Il doit être rempli à la naissance de tout enfant né vivant quel que soit le poids de naissance ou la durée de gestation. Il a été en partie remplacé par le modèle I électronique dans le cadre du projet ebirth.

le modèle III D: déclaration de décès d'un enfant de moins d'un an ou d'un mort-né. Il doit être rempli pour tout enfant décédé de moins d'un an ou pour tout enfant mort-né dont le poids de naissance est d'au moins 500 G ou dont l'âge gestationnel est d'au moins 22 semaines ou dont la taille du vertex au talon est d'au moins 25 cm (critères de l'OMS)

le modèle III C: déclaration de décès d'une personne âgée d'un an ou plus

Tous ces modèles sont composés de 4 volets. Le volet A, non anonyme, est à compléter par le médecin et est conservé par l'administration communale. Le volet B est à remplir par le médecin et sera vérifié par l'administration communale avant d'être envoyé avec le reste du formulaire au médecin fonctionnaire responsable de la Commission communautaire commune. Le volet C, qui contient les informations médicales, est à remplir et à mettre sous enveloppe scellée par le médecin (ces informations ne sont donc pas accessibles à l'administration communale). Il sera ouvert à l'Observatoire de la Santé et du Social sous la responsabilité du médecin responsable. Le volet D, qui contient des informations administratives et sociales anonymes, est complété par l'administration communale.

Les formulaires sont imprimés par la Direction générale Statistique et Information économique qui se charge de les distribuer aux administrations communales, et aux maternités. Les administrations communales se chargent de les distribuer aux médecins et aux hôpitaux de leur commune.

 3. Les formulaires électroniques ebirth

 

 Depuis 2010, une partie des communes et des hôpitaux bruxellois transmettent leurs données relatives aux naissances vivantes par voie électronique à travers la plateforme "ebirth" gérée par FEDICT.

4. Le rôle des administrations communales

Les services de l'état civil des 19 communes bruxelloises jouent un rôle crucial dans le recueil des données de base pour les statistiques des naissances et décès.

Les fonctionnaires de l'état civil sont chargés de compléter le volet D qui reprend les données socio-démographiques concernant la personne décédée ou les parents dans le cas d'une naissance ou d'un décès d'un enfant de moins d'un an (niveau d'instruction, situation socio-professionnelle, nationalité, état-civil, etc.). De la qualité de ces données dépend la possibilité d'analyser les associations entre le statut social ou d'autres variables démographiques et de mesurer des indicateurs de santé.

5. Le parcours des données

Les formulaires (volets A, B et C) sont d'abord remplis par les médecins ou sage-femmes, le volet C est scellé sous enveloppe attachée au bulletin puis l'ensemble est envoyé au service de l'état civil de la commune où a eu lieu la naissance ou le décès.

Le service d'état civil complète alors le volet D. Les bulletins statistiques sont envoyés par les administrations communales à la Commission communautaire commune. Tout au long de ce parcours, le volet C qui contient les informations médicales reste scellé.

L'Observatoire de la Santé et du Social vérifie les données et prend contact avec les administrations communales pour des corrections éventuelles des données administratives. Les volets médicaux sont ouverts sous la responsabilité du médecin fonctionnaire responsable.

Les différents volets des bulletins sont alors encodés et les causes de décès sont codées selon la classification internationale des maladies de l'OMS ICD-10. Depuis 1998 ces tâches sont sous-traitées à l'équipe chargée de ce travail à l'administration de la Communauté flamande (pour l'ensemble des bulletins de 1998 à 2007 et pour les bulletins de décès uniquement pour 2008) et à l'ASBL CEpip (Centre d'épidémiologie périnatale) (pour les bulletins de naissances 2008). Ces sous-traitances font l'objet de conventions annuelles entre la Commission communautaire commune et les entités concernées. En collaboration avec la personne qui assure le codage, le médecin responsable de l'Observatoire vérifie le cas échéant auprès du médecin certificateur les données du volet C ou effectue sauvegarder page webdes recherches complémentaires auprès du parquet pour connaître la cause exacte d'un décès pour lequel des investigations complémentaires étaient encore à faire au moment où le médecin a acté le décès.

Plusieurs bases de données sont constituées au départ de ces données.

1° Naissances et décès d'enfants de moins d'un an

Les naissances et les décès des enfants de moins d'un an sont couplées de manière à obtenir un fichier reprenant les informations concernant la naissance d'un enfant et celles concernant le décès de ce même enfant lorsque des enfants sont décédés avant l'âge d'un an.

La base de données des naissances et décès d'enfants de moins d'un an survenus sur le territoire de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale est transmise à la DGSIE qui est chargée d'établir les statistiques nationales. Cette base de donnée est également analysée par l'Observatoire, elle permet par exemple d'étudier les naissances et décès de résidents non Bruxellois survenus sur le territoire régional (flux vers les maternités et hôpitaux bruxellois).

La base de données des naissances et décès d'enfants de moins d'un an dont la mère réside en Région bruxelloise est analysée de manière approfondie par l'Observatoire de la Santé et du Social. Les résultats de ces analyses sont principalement publiés dans la partie Indicateurs de santé périnatale du site, dans les Tableaux de bord et dans le . Les données concernant les enfants bruxellois nés ou décédés en Flandre sont intégrés dans la base de données depuis 1998, ceux nés ou décédés en Wallonie depuis 2000.

2° Décès des personnes de plus d'un an

La base de données des décès survenus sur le territoire de la Région de Bruxelles-Capitale est transmise à la DGSIE qui est chargée d'établir les statistiques nationales. Cette base de donnée est également analysée par l'Observatoire, elle permet par exemple d'étudier les décès de résidents non Bruxellois survenus sur le territoire régional (flux vers les hôpitaux ou structures de soins bruxellois).

La base de données des décès des résidents bruxellois est analysée de manière approfondie par l'Observatoire. Les résultats de ces analyses sont publiés dans la partie Indicateurs de mortalité du site, dans les Tableaux de bord ou dans des dossiers spécifiques. Les données concernant les Bruxellois décédés en Flandre sont intégrés dans la base de données depuis 1998. Celles des Bruxellois décédés en Wallonie n'ont pas encore été intégrées dans nos bases de données mais le seront prochainement.

Aller vers "l'Enquête nationale de Santé"

 

imprimer
Home  
News  
Qui sommes-nous?  
Contexte bruxellois  
Santé  
Suivi de l'état de santé  
Sources et flux des données  
Publications  
Projets  
Les maladies transmissibles  
Le dépistage du cancer colorectal en Région bruxelloise  
Pauvreté  
Indicateurs  
Publications  
Newsletter & rss  
Projets