National Health Survey

A National Health Survey has been carried out regularly across the country by the Scientific Institute for Public Health since 1997. This type of survey was conducted in 1997, 2001, 2004, 2008 and 2013 (survey ongoing)
(https://his.wiv-isp.be/SitePages/Home.aspx)

This survey is funded by the Federal State, the Regions and Communities. For the Brussels region, funding for this survey is provided out of the Observatory's operational budget.

A large oversample for the Brussels region provides data from over 3,000 residents in each of these surveys (a total of 11-12,000 persons for the whole of the country).

Individuals are selected randomly (any household on the National Registry can be approached for the survey) and asked to complete both a written questionnaire and a "face-to-face" questionnaire, on various aspects of their state of health and the effects of health problems on their daily lives. Questions also focus on the use of different care services, preventive medicine, consumption of medicinal drugs, and access to care for the various socio-economic groups that make up the population. A series of questions also focuses on lifestyle in relation to health, such as physical exercise, diet and the consumption of alcohol, drugs and tobacco.

This survey is one of the main information sources on the state of health of the general population aged over 15 years and on some key determinants of health. It is also one of the few sources that provide a link between a person's social status and their health. This makes it a valuable tool for monitoring the link between health and social inequalities in the Brussels region.

The Scientific Institute for Public Health posts these survey findings on an interactive public website, which also allows certain cross-referenced analyses. (https://his.wiv-isp.be/SitePages/Home.aspx)

The Health and Social Observatory also disposes of complete databases, enabling it to produce the most detailed analyses.

Data from the Health survey are predominantly used in the Health profiles, but also in ongoing work monitoring the state of health.

Specific research (only available in French) has also been carried out in order to verify how representative the 2001 health survey is compared to the 2001 general socio-economic survey.

The Health and Social Observatory participates in the National Health Survey scientific committee and the partners' commission as technical representative for the Brussels region.

Back to "Statistical Births and Deaths certificates"

 

print
Home  
News archive  
Who are we?  
Brussels Context  
Health  
Monitoring the state of health  
Sources and flows of data  
Publications  
Projects  
Les maladies transmissibles  
Le dépistage du cancer colorectal en Région bruxelloise  
Poverty  
Indicators  
Publications  
Newsletter  
Projects

L'Enquête nationale de Santé

Depuis 1997, une grande enquête nationale de santé est menée régulièrement sur l'ensemble du pays par l'Institut scientifique de santé publique. Une telle enquête a ainsi été menée en 1997, en 2001, en 2004, en 2008 et en 2013 (enquête en  cours) (https://his.wiv-isp.be/FR/SitePages/Accueil.aspx)

Cette enquête est financée par l'état fédéral, les régions et les communautés. Pour la Région bruxelloise, le financement de cette enquête provient du budget de fonctionnement de l'Observatoire.

Un sur-échantillonnage important pour la Région bruxelloise permet de disposer de données recueillies auprès de plus de 3000 Bruxellois dans chacune de ces enquêtes (pour un total de 11 à 12 000 personnes pour l'ensemble du pays).

Les personnes sélectionnées aléatoirement (tout ménage inscrit au Registre National est susceptible d'être sollicité pour l'enquête) sont interrogées via un questionnaire écrit et un questionnaire "face-à-face", sur différentes facettes de leur état de santé et sur les conséquences des problèmes de santé sur leur vie quotidienne. Les questions portent également sur le recours aux différents services de soins, à la médecine préventive et à la consommation de médicaments, et sur l'accessibilité des soins pour les différents groupes socio-économiques de la population. Une série de questions porte également sur les habitudes de vie en relation avec la santé, comme l'exercice physique, l'alimentation, la consommation d'alcool, de drogues et de tabac.

Cette enquête constitue une des principales sources d'information  sur l'état de santé de la population générale de plus de 15 ans et certains déterminants de la santé. Il s'agit aussi d'une des rares sources qui permettent de faire le lien entre le statut social des personnes et leur état de santé. C'est donc un outil précieux pour suivre les inégalités sociales face à la santé en Région bruxelloise.

L'Institut scientifique de santé publique met à disposition du public les résultats des enquêtes et un site interactif permettant de réaliser certaines analyses croisées. (https://his.wiv-isp.be/FR/SitePages/Accueil.aspx)

L'Observatoire de la Santé et du Social dispose également des bases de données complètes ce qui lui permet de réaliser des analyses plus approfondies.

Les données de l'Enquête de santé sont largement utilisées dans les Tableaux de bord de la santé mais aussi dans le travail permanent de suivi de l'état de santé.

Des études spécifiques ont aussi été menées pour vérifier la représentativité de l'Enquête de santé de 2001 par rapport à l'Enquête socio-économique générale de 2001.

L'équipe de l'Observatoire de la Santé et du Social participe au comité scientifique de l'Enquête nationale de santé et à la commission des commanditaires en tant que représentant technique pour la Région bruxelloise.

Retour vers "Bulletins statistiques de naissance et décès"

 

imprimer
Home  
News  
Qui sommes-nous?  
Contexte bruxellois  
Santé  
Suivi de l'état de santé  
Sources et flux des données  
Publications  
Projets  
Les maladies transmissibles  
Pauvreté  
Indicateurs  
Publications  
Newsletter & rss  
Projets